carrite

December 20, 2011

Enough nonsense

Filed under: Uncategorized — carrite @ 11:21 am

Tuesday morning.

Well, I got most of my Christmas nonsense taken care of yesterday, and thank god for that. The line at the Corvallis Post Office wasn’t bad at all, something like 10 or 15 minutes, which passed fast. The shopping experience was frustrating, but I pretty much knew what I was after going into battle, which is the hard part.

I managed to spark a Padilla Miami while I was walking the dog, so I got my cigar in on Cigar Day. Hurray. Not quite as much pop as I like in a cigar, but certainly Within Acceptable Parameters. I’ve got a shitload of Padillas in my humidor(s), it’s one of my “go-to” brands…

Last night was a football night, so there wasn’t much accomplished in the research-and-writing department. I was spinning through an old 1926 book by David Saposs called Left Wing Unionism at bedtime and found some good content for a weak bio that I had started a long time ago on Max S. Hayes and wound up working a little bit on it before I went to sleep. When I woke up I felt like continuing, so I crunched a few more sources and got it up to marginally passable status, looking like this.

There’s still a ton of work to be done before this thing is remotely close to being “finished,” such as detailed coverage of his 1920 campaign for Vice President of the United States and more background on the 1912 campaign against Gompers, but compared to the way I had left it earlier, this thing is at least passable as a document of his life.

I’m not completely sure where I’m headed next. I don’t really have enough material on the American Legion to grind that out properly. I’m not at all fired up to work on A.J. Muste or the Social Democratic Party of Wisconsin either.

Usually that means it’s time to go read microfilm and see what I can see, but I’m half way through typing up an overlong SLP diatribe. Once you sink 3000 words of typing, you don’t want to move on until the other 3000 words are done, or else you lose it all. But is the end product worth the effort? That is less clear, even for me.

Normal people would call it a massive waste of time.

Well, I’ve killed enough time, back to work.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

